Three Branches of United States Government

Branches of Government

  • Published on Jan 29, 2018 What are the powers of the executive branch of the U.S. government? Who can be president in the United States? And what exactly goes into electing the person who sits in the Oval Office?

  • Published on Jan 29, 2018 What are the origins of the judicial branch of the U.S. government? What powers does the Supreme Court have, and what are its most notable rulings?

To ensure a separation of powers, the U.S. Federal Government is made up of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. To ensure the government is effective and citizens’ rights are protected, each branch has its own powers and responsibilities, including working with the other branches.


Supreme Court

Chief Justice - John Robert, Jr.

Associate Justice Clarence Thomas

Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Associate Justice Stephen G. Breyer

Associate Justice Samuel A. Alito

Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Associate Justice Elena Kagan

Associate Justice Neil M. Gorsuch

Associate Justice Brett M. Kavanaugh